United States Cub Scout Uniforms: Glossary

Cub Scouting has a language all its own. A full understanding of the program and uniform requires an understanding of these terms. Many of the terms come from or are shared with Boy Scouts, but many are unique to Cubing. The original English Wolf Cubbing drew heavily from Africa and Kippling's Jungle Book. This was not as popular in America which looked more toward native American Indian lore.

To earn the rank badge, Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts must complete Achievements found in their Handbook. The Achivements cover these areas: God, Country, Family and Self.
Activity Badge:
There are 20 Activity Badges a Webelos Scout can earn. These are divided into 5 areas: Physical, Mental, Technology, Outdoor, and Community. A pin is presented for completion of each Activity Badge.
The Arrow of Light:
This is the highest award a boy can earn as a Cub Scout. The ONLY (non-religious) award from Cub Scouts which can be worn on a Boy Scout Uniform.
Arrow Points:
Arrow Points are awarded to Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts for completion of electives beyond the Achievements covered for earning the Wolf or Bear rank badge. A Gold Arrow Point is awarded for the first 10 electives; a Silver Arrow Point is awarded for each successive 10 electives completed.
Bear Cub:
Third Grade Cub Scouts
Every boy who joins Cub Scouts must first earn the Bobcat badge. Doing this, he learns the seven basic tenets of Cub Scouting: the Promise, the Law of the Pack, the sign, the handshake, the motto, the salute, and what Webelos means.
Boy Scout:
A Boy Scout is between the ages of 11 and 18 and belongs to a Troop. He advances through these ranks: Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, then Eagle.
The group of adult volunteers who "run" the Pack.
The organization of professional Scouters that oversees all Cub Scout Packs, Boy Scout Troops and other units in an area.
Court of Honor:
A special Awards Ceremony. Awards may be presented at any Pack Meeting, but there is a special ceremony for presentation of awards at a Court of Honor.

Figure 1.--American Cubs mostly wore knickers until the 1940s when they switched to long pants. Some Cubs wore short pants, but long were more common.
Cub or Cub Scout:
Any member of Boy Scouts in First through Fifth grade (or age 7-11 years).
The chief adult volunteer leader. The Cubmaster runs the Pack Meetings, and advises all other Leaders.
The smaller group, generally same-age, who meet weekly. Composed of 4 to 20 boys, depending upon leadership. (usually there are 4 to 6 boys per adult leader).
Den Leader:
The Adult Volunteer who is in charge of planning and running Den Meetings. The term in England is "Akela". In America it used to be "Den Mother" as it used to be almost always one of the Cub's mother who did it.
Den Meeting:
Individual Den Meetings are held for each rank level of Cub Scouts. These usually occur at a regular intervals, such as weekly or bi-weekly. Wolf and Bear dens work on fun projects, crafts, skits, or some of their Achievements. Webelos dens use this time to work on the various Activity Badges.
Each Council is divided into a number of districts.
each level of Scouting has its own Handbook. The Handbook is ESSENTIAL for Scouts, as it spells out the requirements for advancement, as well as providing a place to record completion of the same.
Old Cub rank which was replaced with the Fourth Weblos Grade.
What the whole group -- all of our Dens and families together -- is called. The Pack meets once per month.
Each unit must have a sponsoring organization, such as a Church, service club, etc.
Tiger Cub:
First Grade of Cub Scouts
Tiger Partner:
Adult partner of a Tiger Cub - usually a family member.
The proscribed clothing for any and all official Cub Scout events. Some Packs require Cubs to wear the full official Cub uniform. Many Packs have, however, a minimum uniform requiremwnt consisting of a uniform shirt, (with all patches), appropriate hat and belt, and blue jeans (or shorts). For Summer (and other `casual') events a Cub or Webelos Scout T-shirt and shorts is acceptable.
Webelos means WE'll BE LOyal Scouts.
Webelos Scout:
Fourth and Fifth Grade Cub Scouts
Wolf Cub:
Second Grade Cub Scouts (or boys who start Cubs in 3rd grade and choose to be Wolf Cubs)
Each individually chartered Pack, Troop, Post or Lodge is a unit.

Christopher Wagner

Navigate the Historic Boys' Uniform Chronology Pages:
[Return to the Main chronologies page]
[The 1900s] [The 1910s] [The 1920s] [The 1930s] [The 1940s] [The 1950s] [The 1960s] [The 1970s] [The 1980s] [The 1990s] [The 2000s]

Navigate the Historic Boys' Uniform Web Site:
[Introduction] [Chronologies] [Organizations] [FAQs] [Bibliographies] [Contributions]
[Boys' Uniform Home]

Navigate the Historic Boys' Uniform Web organizatiion pages:
[Return to the Main U.S. Scout page]
[Return to the Main U.S. Cub page]
[Boys' Brigade] [Camp Fire] [Hitler Youth] [National] [Pioneers] [Royal Rangers] [Scout]

Created: August 26, 2000
Last updated: August 26, 2000